DIY Wooden Sign

I love of signs. Whenever I need to fill up a big empty wall space, I  usually make a sign.  You can see some of them herehere and here. I decided that I needed a new one for my decor so I made a DIY Wooden Sign.

How to make a DIY Wooden Sign

I’ve made signs before but I think this one is my absolute favorite. I tried to make one last year with this saying but it didn’t turn out like I planned. But this one turned out perfect.

I used scrap wood for this project and cut it down to size. To hold the wood together, I attached three paint stirrers to the back of the wood. Drill pilot holes first and then put your screws in. I placed 3 screws in each paint stirrer.After I attached all the wood together, I sanded it with a palm sander and 120 grit sandpaper. This step (sanding) is optional as I will explain below.

How to make a DIY Wooden Sign

After sanding, I gave it a coat of DecoArt Chalky Finish Paint in Serene. This is the first time I have used this paint and I love it. It gave my sign a nice weathered look which is exactly what I was going for. The best thing about chalky finish paint? You don’t have to sand or prime the wood.  I chose to sand it because I wanted a smooth surface but you don’t have to.

How to make a DIY Wooden Sign

I created a stencil using my Silhouette cutting machine and vinyl, placed the stencil onto the sign and painted it with white paint.

It now lives on my beach themed mantel along with my Mod Podge Nautical Map Monogram that I made last year.

How to make a DIY Wooden Sign

How to make a DIY Wooden Sign

Cost of this project: NOTHING! I used everything that I had on hand.

If you like this post, check out my July 4th Pallet Art

July+4th+Pallet+Art

 

