Beach Inspired Subway Art

Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
I scored some free wood the other day and was soooo excited.  I NEVER find free wood.  I was driving home from somewhere and saw a pile on the side of the road.  I did a quick u-turn and swiped some.  The square was the perfect size for my project.
First, I painted the wood white.  The white paint was left over from my entry table and my pallet art table.  That can of paint has gone a LONG way!
After the white paint dried, I used my Cricut to cut out vinyl letters.  I used the George and Basic shapes cartridge.  I placed them on the wood and made sure to press down hard along the edges to seal them.  I used the names of our favorite beaches on the Outer Banks.

Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Using aqua blue spray paint, I gave the wood one coat.  I had just enough left in the bottle since I had also used it for my Spring Frame, among other things.

Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
When the blue paint was dry, I used tweezers to carefully peel the vinyl off.  There were some areas that weren’t perfect but that is ok.  I used a fine grit sand paper to distress the wood.  I sanded it more on the edges and corners to give it that weathered look.

Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
I love the way it turned out.  It’s personal and reminds me of our favorite vacation spots. I hung it over the table in the entryway.
Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Here Comes the Sun: Beach Inspired Subway Art
Have you made any subway art signs?
